MMSD Summer School banner

Virtual Summer School

Our goal is to be able to provide a safe environment in order to meet the needs of our students during summer programming. Outlooks and information about COVID 19 change almost daily.  In consultation with senior leadership, MSCR and the Department of Public Instruction, we have decided to offer a virtual learning program for students Grades 3-12.  In support of the summer school mission, our program is focused on high quality instruction that is targeted to accelerate growth in key skills in math and literacy, credit recovery and initial credit courses in a virtual format for six weeks. 

Due to the pre-planning needed on our end to make virtual learning engaging and helpful for your child, we want to make sure you understand the choice you are making so your child can take advantage of this opportunity to its fullest. If your child is struggling with virtual learning once enrolled, we ask families to try problem solving with your summer school teacher or principal first, before deciding to stop attending.

For more information, please see the 2020 Virtual Learning Summer School Plan.

Please sign in to the Infinite Campus Parent Portal to access your child’s schedule, which includes information about their teachers.

Mission:

Summer School is part of a year-long strategy that provides critical additional learning time to support students on their pathway to college, career and community readiness. 

Our Summer School Program:

  • Engages students in high-quality instruction that is targeted to accelerate growth in key skills and build their self-efficacy
  • Supports students through meaningful partnerships between schools, families and community resources

Enroll

Summer school enrollment is closed.

Contact Us: 

Glendale Elementary

Principal - Sue Abplanalp 
sabplanalp@madison.k12.wi.us
608-206-9453

Secretary - Vanessa Cruz 
vacruz@madison.k12.wi.us
608-206-9453

Lincoln Elementary

Principal - Deb Hoffman 
dahoffman@madison.k12.wi.us
608-513-6735

Secretary - Tiffany Williams 
tlwilliams2@madison.k12.wi.us
608-620-4093

Middle School Sites (Grades 5-7)

Sennett 

Principal - Sarah Ouzounian 
souzounian@madison.k12.wi.us
608-438-4956

Principal - Amy Wederath 
awederath@madison.k12.wi.us
608-576-5917

Secretary - Dametra Moore
dnmoore@madison.k12.wi.us
608-228-4082

Wright

Principal - Angie Hicks
acrawford@madison.k12.wi.us
608-204-1343

Principal - Kyle Walsh 
kpwalsh@madison.k12.wi.us
608-622-8873

Secretary - Sara Hudkins
snhudkins@madison.k12.wi.us
608-333-5634

High school sites (Grades 8-12)

East

Principal (6/22 to 7/10) - Maggie Zywicki
mazywicki@madison.k12.wi.us

Principal (7/13 to 7/31) - Jennifer Ploeger 
jrploeger@madison.k12.wi.us

Secretary - Emily Nevel
ejnevel@madison.k12.wi.us
 

La Follette

Principal (6/22 to 7/10) - Mathew Thompson
methompson@madison.k12.wi.us
608-219-9206

Principal (7/13 to 7/31) - Cullen Haskins 
cjhaskins@madison.k12.wi.us
608-576-2284

Secretary - Pam Coltharp
pjcoltharp@madison.k12.wi.us
608-438-1325

Memorial

Principal - Meg Filkins
mffilkinsnie@madison.k12.wi.us
608-663-6042

Secretary - Cara Hanson
cmhanson@madison.k12.wi.us
608-212-5304

West

Principal - Melanie Thiel
mmthiel@madison.k12.wi.us
608-301-5749

Secretary - Natalie Van Den Brandt
nkloranger@madison.k12.wi.us
608-572-7912

Summer School Office

Email: summerschool@madison.k12.wi.us 

Summer School office:  608-663-1914